Kings and Queens of England

Tutor: Bernadette Young
: Weekly
: Tuesday 6 Feb 2024 – 23 April 2024
: 10:00am to 12:00pm
Venue: St. Marys Church,
7-19 O’Shanassy  St, Sunbury
Numbers: 20

This course comprises a series of ten units, exploring the history of the Kings and Queens of England, from the early concept of kingship through to the House of Windsor.

  • Unit 1 Prologue – the early concept of kingship. The Anglo-Saxon invasions of Britain and the rise of some major kingdoms.
  • Unit 2 – The Saxon and Danish Kings – Review of the Saxon rulers of the House of Wessex and the Danish line that temporarily interrupted the rule of the Wessex kings.
  • Unit 3 – The Norman Line – The history of England through the reigns of five monarchs beginning with more than twenty years when the Conqueror ruled and when great changes were wrought.
  • Unit 4 -The Angevin Plantagenets – Examination of the eight kings of the original line of the Plantagenet family from Henry II to Richard II.
  • Unit 5 -the War of the Roses – Examination of the next six kings of England – three Lancastrians and three Yorkists.
  • Unit 6 -The Tudors – Six monarchs ruled England during the Tudor period, the last three of whom were women.
  • Unit 7 – the Stuarts and the Commonwealth – The period encompassing six reigns and an interregnum- a unique period in British history.
  • Unit 8 – The House of Hanover – An examination of the reigns of the first four Georges, William IV and Victoria.
  • Unit 9 – The House of Saxe-Coburg-Gothe and the House of Windsor.
  • Unit 10 – The children and Grand-childen of Elizabeth II